top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKathryn Boland

Learning to think critically: My educational experience in Catholic and public school


Education is a hot-button topic in the US right now, to say in the least; it may very well have been the tipping point towards the Glenn Youngkin's recent gubernatorial victory in Virginia, and certain polls show that it’s currently a more pressing issue for some voters than healthcare, climate, or racial justice. “Critical race theory” has become a conservative catch-all for truthful historical education, social-emotional learning, and celebrating diversity (how terrible -- apart from the fact that, as has been reinforced over and over again, CRT is only taught in law schools).


All of this has made me reflect on my own education, because my educational experience (for which I am quite privileged and grateful) has shown me the powerful impact of learning to think critically: to question the status quo, to interpret rather than memorize, to rely on one’s own wisdom rather than someone else’s. The story starts with Catholic K-8 schooling in suburban Rhode Island (as noted, quite a privileged atmosphere).


With the exception of one or two educators in the middle school grades, it was about memorizing and regurgitating back information. In math classes, we never learned the why behind what we were learning. Even writing was plugging thoughts and personal stories into a very set, given structure.


Me in 2004, very much being a young teenager, yet also with my desire to express myself

fully authentically not fully stamped out by Catholic school


One might think that art and music classes would be a space for authentic creativity -- but even that felt like repeating back given content or creating within rigid frameworks. To not be entirely negative about my elementary school education, I do want to note that this education gave me a work ethic and sense of commitment, and the Christian values instilled in me a firm moral/ethical foundation (not that that’s the only way one can develop that -- it’s certainly not!).


One might argue well, hey, isn’t that just elementary school education? And this was in the 90’s and early 2000’s, when pedagogical practice and theory weren’t as progressive. Yet my sense is that it wasn’t just an educational level factor. I went to Catholic school for ninth grade as well, a parochial high school in Fall River, MA -- and it felt like much the same. Looking back, it felt like a reluctance to teach young people to think critically -- to think for themselves -- from a Catholic brand of conservatism. Institutions like the Church can (and will) remain unchanged if they remain unquestioned.



A new environment


I can affirm all of that confidently because I saw the difference when I transferred to public school, for teeth through twelfth grades -- thankfully, and again highlighting my privilege, one of the best public schools in the state. Good old Portsmouth High School, my high school alma mater! While there was still some working within set structures and memorization/regurgitation, I felt as if I was suddenly being asked to think for myself.


I was encouraged to ask hard questions of people and institutions in power. I was asked to analyze and interpret much more than simply parrot back material. In arts classes, I had space and guidance to find my own creative voice. I learned seedier truths of history (both US and global), versus the more sanitized versions I learned previously. I was asked to make arguments via the evidence at hand.


With my then-Representative in the US House, Patrick Kennedy, on a trip to

Washington DC in a civic education program for high-schoolers


My main argument here lies there; more than simply learning accurate history, for example, this pedagogy instilled in me some important understandings: about how power begets power, those who have power will fight tooth and nail to keep it, and that the world doesn’t always operate in just ways -- but there are ways in which we can work towards making it more just, more truthful, more illuminated for all.


I learned how to question those in power and structures of power and see them for what they are. I learned that things aren’t always what they seem -- so don’t assume and don’t take for granted.


I learned that despite all of that (which yes, does seem a bit depressing), there are good people who will work to make the world a better place, and you can join them. And change is possible, though it takes effort.


And none of this detracted from that moral/ethical foundation I gained in elementary school and ninth grade -- in fact, it strengthened it. I believe it’s a big part of why I’m a writer, artist, and activist, and I’m so very grateful.



The bigger picture


So, why should anyone care about that personal experience I just described? Yes, I am one person and it’s anecdata (anecdotal and not quite a scientific sample!). My larger point is the incomparable importance of teaching our children to think critically: to look for evidence and make reasoned arguments with it, to peek under the hood when it comes to those in power, to not automatically believe what they’re told. I believe that when we fail to do that, we’re taking a lot from our children.


They are our future, so by failing them in that way we fail each other and society at large. I wholeheartedly believe that the ability to think critically is essential for engaged and positive citizenship (of one’s country and one’s world). We can be part of protecting that.


When right-wing pundits and politicians bemoan Critical Race Theory, there’s a story of power and profit-seeking there. We should employ our own ability to think critically and question power, and not let those individuals go unchallenged. I know I’m ready for that -- are you with me?


In a meeting of Portsmouth High School's literary magazine -- arts clubs at PHS were a key way in which I began awakening to the power of critical thinking through art

15 views0 comments
bottom of page