top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKathryn Boland

Artist Talk with Oscar Rodriguez: It’s truly never too late


“It’s never too late to live your dream!,” proclaim inspirational calendars and affirmation cards. The life and career of dance artist Oscar Rodriguez demonstrates that at least in some cases, that’s very much true – with the essential ingredients of work ethic, passion, and pure grit. Born in Venezuela, and beginning training in Costa Rica at age 24, Rodriguez has broad experience across the dance and performing arts sector.


Extensive, dedicated training in a plethora of styles has allowed him to gain that far-reaching experience – not to mention intentionally being the kind of positive, good-natured artist that people enjoy working with. He came to New York City in 2018, for an MFA in Dance at NYU Tisch School of the Arts. Now he’s looking to further build his experience and hone his craft here in the USA.


I learned more about his experience and perspectives while he was in rehearsal for his latest project, Pennsylvania Shakespeare Festival’s production of In the Heights. We discussed how he came to dance, how athletics has contributed to his dancing, why one should stick with their dream, and much, much more. Let’s leap in and hear right from him!

Oscar Rodriguez, Photography by Jon Taylor (@jontaylorphoto)



KB: You have an extensive career in dance and entertainment: across film/television, musical theater, concert dance, and more. What have been some key highlights, some especially memorable moments or periods for you, along that path?


I have been very lucky to always find myself in the right place at the right moment, even if I didn’t realize it at the time. For example, the studio where I started training in Costa Rica, Warehouse Dance Complex, opened its doors to me. I went every day of the week, and sometimes during the weekends, to train in many different styles of dance. In that studio, many opportunities came my way – those that helped me realize I wanted to make a big 180-degree turn in my life, to become a professional dancer.


I performed in opening numbers and as a backup dancer for the first two seasons of the acclaimed reality television show Dancing With the Stars Costa Rica, and performed for different Costa Rica celebrities and in events for major brands like Coca Cola. I then continued training with focus and determination. That allowed me to be part of the cast of the first two Costa Rican Broadway productions, West Side Story and Chicago, as well as performing with well-known dance companies such as DANZA ABEND at the Teatro Nacional of Costa Rica.


There were always questions about making the right decisions – and there still are. Yet opportunities continue to appear, opportunities helping me to realize that I’m in the right place at the right time, making the right choices for my career. I’m also determined, resilient, work hard every day, while having fun doing what I love. And I trust the process; like my father says, "everybody gets to where they need to be."


Rodriguez as Bernardo in West Side Story at the Short North Stage



KB: Your experience also demonstrates broad versatility -- dancing styles from modern/contemporary to musical theater (not to mention the "triple threat" quality that it takes to work in musical theater!). Is that an artistic value that you've intentionally built, and if so how? Are there things that might separate you as a versatile performing artist from other versatile performing artists (more and more common out there)?


I believe that we as performers should have a certain degree of versatility in our craft. Many people are focused on a particular style: Hip Hop, Ballet, Contemporary, Musical Theatre, and so on. However, even if we only focus on one style (let's say, Ballroom), it is never a bad choice to get out of your comfort zone and take a Ballet class one day, or take a Hip Hop class on another day.


In my opinion, you don't need to master all of the styles – but you can learn from them and apply that learning to your own craft. That will distinguish you from other dancers in the room. We can all raise a leg up high, move our arms, go from point A to point B – but what sets a difference is the "how" you perform that step. In my experience, there are no “simple” steps when you perform. Even when you stand still on stage for a long period of time, you have to find a way to keep the audience engaged with you. When you walk from one position to the next one you have the responsibility to allow the audience to join you in your journey.


Versatility is a great tool to build and polish our craft. All of us artists have to get out of our comfort zones and take as many classes as possible. If we are training our voices, for example, we have to listen to many styles of music to train our ears. We can even try to emulate how those artists sing, to see what fits us best. The more references we can get, the better. It might be overwhelming at first, but I promise that it will be a fun ride!


Rodriguez dancing THREADS with Amanda Selwyn Dance Theatre at New York Live Arts, photography by Maria Baranova (@photo_by_baranova)



KB: Your resume also shows that you're a versatile athlete: with experience in soccer (football), baseball, basketball, golf, and more. Has your athletic experience enhanced, or otherwise influenced, your craft as a dancer? Has being a dancer perhaps also impacted your athletic abilities?


When I was growing up in Venezuela, I didn't dance at all. I was not training as a dancer, at least; I danced at parties with family and friends, but I never saw dance as a career. From a young age, I played golf with my dad on the weekends. In high school, I was on the basketball and volleyball teams. Outside of that, I used to play a lot of baseball and soccer with my friends.


My first encounter with counts in a class was when I took my first Spinning and Aerobics classes. I remember that I enjoyed following the instructor to the beats of the music while we were sweating and working out. Then I moved to Costa Rica in 2011, my sister took me to my first Hip Hop class. Something just felt right that day. My body was moving in a different way, but I was enjoying it.


The athletic abilities that I gained from playing all those different types of sports, from a young age, probably taught me how to move in a different way. Even to this day, it is still a struggle. I am still figuring out how to be more efficient with my movement. Yet being active from a young age was a plus, because the strength was there. Now it is a matter of how to use it wisely.


Photography by Alejandro Armas (@2pirphoto)



KB: What do you believe that you can uniquely contribute to America's arts ecosystem; what special skillsets, values, interests, et cetera, do you bring?


With every process I step into, I always focus on bringing the right attitude – the best energy and vibe – so that the people I work with can feel that they can rely on me to get the job done. I believe in creating a healthy work environment, a safe space for every company member to express themselves and be themselves. We all have our own beautiful voice, and it is important to allow that voice to be heard. I am also persistent, committed and honest. I'm not afraid of taking on a big challenge. And if I do not know something, I'll do my best to find out.



KB: Please share anything else that you'd like to. Thanks for sharing your insights and experiences!


I am a Mechanical Engineer who one day realized I didn't want to do that anymore. I then took a 180 degree turn in life to become a professional dancer – at the age of 24. I'm an advocate for believing in your own path, your own process and your dreams. Stay active, stay focused, stay curious, and keep learning. Never think that you know it all, because that will become your biggest weakness. Be humble and stay true to yourself.


Photography by Alejandro Armas (@westlaprotraits)


201 views0 comments
bottom of page